May Bumps 2018

The May Bumps 2018 took place from Wednesday 13th June to Saturday 16th June. The Getting-on Race took place on Friday 8th June, the results of which are available here.

May Bumps 2018 - Final Results Men Women

Wildlife Guidance

A reminder of the Wildlife guidance from the Cambridge River Users Group (also found in our Guidance for Coxes and Coaches). In the nesting season, locations of known nests are posted here:

  • There have been ducklings sighted both at Combined and along the stretch of boathouses opposite Midsummer Common. There are also some around the P&E / on the long reach.
  • There’s a large number of newly hatched ducklings on Ditton Corner.
  • There is a swans' nest in the reeds just downstream of the backwater on the outside of Ditton Corner. Cygnets are expected soon.
  • There are a pair of swans with three cygnets between the P&E and Ditton Corner.
  • Cygnets have been sighted at Horningsea, with parents, one of which has attacked an VIII.
  • There is another swans' nest near Bottisham Lock.

(Updated 11th June 2018)

Forthcoming River Closures

Weekend Rowing: First boats only may boat at 11:00am on both days. All other crews may boat from 11:15am. All novice crews must be accompanied by a bank party, and novice crews must have an experienced cox for their first outing.

Early Morning Restrictions: All non-novice crews may boat at lighting down. Crews boating within 15 minutes of lighting down must carry lights. Novice crews may boat from 07:30am, and must be accompanied by a bank party. Novice crews must have an experienced cox for their first outing.

Evening Hours are in effect during 17:30-20:00 on weekdays during Easter Full Term for upper boats only. Please see the Evening Rowing page for more information.

Details of forthcoming closures of the river to CUCBC crews are shown below. All are for the river downstream of Chesterton Corner / Green Dragon Footbridge unless stated otherwise. Where an event allows row throughs for Senior Crews, these are defined as crews which may row below Baitsbite lock (i.e first boats and crews in the first two divisions of May Bumps).

Date Time Event/Note
Sat 29th Sept 09:30 - 15:00 Cambridge SBH
Sat 13th Oct 09:30 - 15:00 Cambridge Autumn Head
Mon 22nd - Fri 26th Oct 13:00 - 18:00 University Fours
Sun 11th Nov 09:00 - 15:00 Fishing Match - Downstream of Baitsbite Lock
Sat 17th Nov 07:30 - 15:30 Cambridge Winter Head
Sun 18th Nov 09:00 - 16:30 Emma Sprints Regatta
Sat 24th Nov 08:00 - 16:00 Clare Novices Regatta
Sun 25th Nov 11:00 - 14:30 Canoe Race - whole river
Thurs 29th Nov 08:30 - 16:30 Fairbairn Cup
Fri 30th Nov 08:30 - 16:30 Fairbairn Cup
Sat 8th Dec 10:30 - 15:00 Christmas Head
Sun 9th Nov 09:00 - 15:00 Fishing Match - Downstream of Baitsbite Lock

External Event Calendars: CRA | Conservancy

Michell and Pegasus Cups 2018

The 2018 Michell Cup for the best overall performance during the year's competitions, and the Pegasus Cup, for the best performance in the May Bumps were won by Wolfson. Congratulations!

CUCBC Privacy Policy

The CUCBC privacy policy has been updated in light of recent changes to legislation. The latest version can be found here.

Small Boats Regatta 2018

The Small Boats Regatta 2018 took place on Tuesday 24th and Wednesday 25th April 2018. The results are available here. Congratulations to all of the winners, and thanks to all of the marshals and competitors for taking part. The prizegiving will take place at the Captains' Meeting at 1700 on Sunday 29th April, in the Long Room at Murray Edwards College.

Lent Bumps 2018

The Lent Bumps 2018 took place from Tuesday 27th February to Saturday 3rd March. The Getting-on Race was held on the afternoon of Friday 23rd February.

Lent Bumps 2018 - Final Results Men Women

Notes and Fines from the Umpires

Michaelmas Captains Meeting

The Michaelmas Captains Meeting was held on Sunday 8th October at 5pm in the Audit Room at King's College. The minutes have now been published.

University IVs 2017

The University IVs 2017 ran from Monday 23rd October to Friday 27th October. Entries closed on Friday 13th October. The Marshals Rota can be found here. Race Results have now been published - congratulations to Caius M1, Downing M2, Newnham W1, Downing W2, and Clare M1 for winning their respective divisions. Prizegiving will be held at 1800 on Monday 30th October in King's College Bar.

Michell and Pegasus Cups 2017

The final rankings for the Michell and Pegasus Cups 2017 are now available.

The 2017 Michell Cup, awarded for the best overall club performance, was won by Caius.

The 2017 Pegasus Cup, for the best performance in the 2017 May Bumps, was won by Newnham.

Syndicate content

© 2001 - 2017 Cambridge University Combined Boat Clubs. All rights reserved.