Cambridge University Combined Boat Clubs is the umbrella organisation for student rowing at the University of Cambridge, consisting of the University and College Boat Clubs.

As well as organising the Lent and May Bumps, CUCBC also regulates student clubs' use of the River Cam.

Wildlife Guidance

A reminder of the Wildlife guidance from the Cambridge River Users Group (also found in our Guidance for Coxes and Coaches). In the nesting season, locations of known nests are posted here.

(Updated 27th September 2018)

Forthcoming River Closures

Weekend Rowing: All crews may boat at 11:00am on both days. All novice crews must be accompanied by a bank party, and novice crews must have an experienced cox for their first outing.

Early Morning Restrictions: Senior boats only may boat at lighting down. Crews boating within 15' of lighting down must carry white lights visible through 360o. Novice crews may boat from 07:30am, and must be accompanied by a bank party. Novice crews must have an experienced cox for their first outing.

Evening Hours are in effect during 17:30-20:00 on weekdays during Easter Full Term for upper boats only. Please see the Evening Rowing page for more information.

Details of forthcoming closures of the river to CUCBC crews are shown below. All are for the river downstream of Chesterton Corner / Green Dragon Footbridge unless stated otherwise. Where an event allows row throughs for Senior Crews, these are defined as crews which may row below Baitsbite lock (i.e first boats and crews in the first two divisions of May Bumps).

Date Time Event/Note
Sat 19th Jan 08:30 - 15:00 Winter League 1 (CRA) - Captains see email for row-throughs
Sun 20th Jan 09:00 - 15:00 CFPAS Fishing Match
Sat 26th Jan 09:00 - 16:30 Cambridge Head to Head
Sat 2nd Feb 10:00 - 17:00 Newnham Short Course
Fri 8th Feb TBC Robinson Head
Sat 16th Feb TBC Pembroke Regatta
Sun 17th Feb 08:30 - 15:00 Winter League 2 (CRA) - Captains see email for row-throughs
Fri 1st March TBC Lent Bumps Getting-On Race
Tues 5th - Fri 8th March 13:00 - 18:00 Lent Bumps
Sat 9th March 11:00 - 18:00 Lent Bumps
Sat 10th March 10:00 - 15:00 Junior Sculling Head
Tues 12th March TBC Second Trinity Challenge Sculls
Thurs 14th March TBC Catz Cardinals
Sat 24th March 08:30 - 15:00 Winter League 3 (CRA) - Captains see email for row-throughs

External Event Calendars: CRA | Conservancy

Early Morning Traffic Restrictions

As of Monday 12th November, each club will be permitted a maximum of two boats on the water at any one time between lighting down and 8:30am. This applies to IVs and VIIIs, but not to singles, doubles or tub pairs.

University IVs 2018

The University IVs 2018 will run from Monday 22nd October to Friday 26th October. Entries will open shortly after the captains' meeting, and will close on Friday 12th October. Entries must be made through college captains' CUCBC accounts, and further information will be disseminated through captains' CUCBC email addresses, so please ensure these are handed over from last year's captains where necessary. All competing crews will be expected to provide marshals to ensure the safe running of the regatta.

Michell and Pegasus Cups 2018

The 2018 Michell Cup for the best overall performance during the year's competitions, and the Pegasus Cup, for the best performance in the May Bumps were won by Wolfson. Congratulations!

May Bumps 2018

The May Bumps 2018 took place from Wednesday 13th June to Saturday 16th June. The Getting-on Race took place on Friday 8th June, the results of which are available here.

May Bumps 2018 - Final Results Men Women
Syndicate content

© 2001 - 2017 Cambridge University Combined Boat Clubs. All rights reserved.