Cambridge University Combined Boat Clubs is the umbrella organisation for student rowing at the University of Cambridge, consisting of the University and College Boat Clubs.

As well as organising the Lent and May Bumps, CUCBC also regulates student clubs' use of the River Cam.

Forthcoming River Closures

Weekend Rowing: Allowed on both days after 11.00am. All novice crews must be accompanied by a bank party, and novice crews must have an experienced cox for their first outing.

Evening Hours are in effect weekdays during Easter Full Term for upper boats only. Please see the Evening Rowing information.

Details of forthcoming closures of the river to CUCBC crews are shown below. All are for the river downstream of Chesterton Corner / Green Dragon Footbridge unless stated otherwise.

Date Time Event/Note
Mon 24th - Wed 26th April 13:00 - 18:00 Small Boats Regatta
Sat 29th April 10:00 - 17:00 Spring H2H
Sun 30th April 12:00 - 21:00 City Sprints - in front of Boathouses
Sun 21st May 11:00 - 16:00 Champs Eights Head
Sun 28th May 12:00 - 21:00 Nines Regatta
Tues 6th June 19:00 - 20:30 X-Press Head
Fri 9th June 15:00 - 21:30 Getting-on-Race
Wed 14th - Sat 17th June 11:00 - 21:30 May Bumps
Sun 18th June 09:00 - 13:00 Fishing Match
Sun 2nd July 09:00 - 15:00 Fishing Match
Thurs 6th July 16:30 - 21:00 CRA Time Race
Sun 16th July 10:00 - 15:00 Fishing Match
Tues 18th - Fri 21st July 16:30 - 21:30 CRA Town Bumps

Event Calendars: CUCBC | CRA | Conservancy

Small Boats Regatta 2017

The Small Boats Regatta 2017 took place between Monday 24th and Wednesday 26th April with the following competitions taking place:

  • Bushe-Fox Freshmen's Sculls (Men)
  • Delafield Championship Sculls (Women)
  • Fairbairn Junior Sculls (Men and Women)
  • Foster-Fairbairn Pairs (Men and Women)
  • Lowe Double Sculls (Men, Women and Mixed)
  • Magdalene Silver Pairs (Men and Women)
  • Maiden Sculls (Novice Women)
  • Peter Brandt Sculls (Novice Men)

Full results are now available here.

Captains' Meeting Easter Term 2017

The start of term captains' meeting is scheduled for 5pm on Sunday 30th April in King's College in the Audit Room.

May Bumping Races 2017

The 2017 May Bumps will take place from Wednesday 14th to Saturday 17th June with the Getting-On Race on Friday 9th June.

Lent Bumps Meetings

The Lent Bumps meetings will take place on Sunday 26th February at the Divinity School, St. John's College.

  • 18:00 - Captains' Meeting
  • 18:30 - Umpires Briefing
  • 19:00 - Senior Coxes Briefing 
  • 19:30 - Novice Coxes Briefing

All coxes MUST attend one of the Coxes Briefings. Anyone who has coxed Lents or Mays before may attend the Senior Coxes briefing, whilst anyone who has not coxed Bumps before MUST attend the Novice Coxes Briefing.

Lent Bumps 2017

The Lent Bumps 2017 took place from Tuesday 28th February to Saturday 4th March. The Getting-on Race was held on the afternoon of Friday 24th February.

Congratulations to all competing crews, in particular Lady Margaret for winning the Men's Headship and Jesus for retaining the Women's Headship.

Lent Bumps 2017 - Final Results Men Women

Notes and Fines from the Umpires

Syndicate content

© 2001 - 2017 Cambridge University Combined Boat Clubs. All rights reserved.